Snapshots of Birregurra Photography WINNERS

 Snapshots of Birregurra is a community arts engagement project developed by Birregurra Community Arts Group, Birre Mail and Birre Historical Society—using creativity to swell community pride while also providing a catalogue of images which will be archived at the Historical Society – a gift for our whole community.

This year’s 59 PORTRAIT entries were very strong with many familiar faces captured with honesty and warmth. Judges chose the winners, not just based on their technical appeal but also for their sense of place and the image’s story.


WINNER ($100): Sue Coulson with “Men at Work”, a beautiful image of the workers in a Birre shearing shed portraying a story of hard work and friendship.

RUNNER UP ($50): Rebecca Diamond with her captivating image “Reflecting” with her young son and whippet taking in the views of Birre golf course. Rebecca is the grand daughter of Lenn Robb who Snapshots was created in memorium for.

Commendations also go to Ian Taylor for “Paper Runner”, Immy Hutchinson with “Mr Dennis of Homestead” and Bonny McLaren with “Innate Beauty”.









WINNER: ($100): Oliver Coulson with “Flower Power”. Oliver’s photo immediately struck all the judges with is beautiful sense of play and innocence —sending us all back to our childhoods which were filled with adventure and wonder.

RUNNER UP ($50): Ebony Armistead with “Brian from Outback – Helpful for everyone”. Ebony’s photo captures Outback Trading owner Brian Sanders perfectly lugging a 20kg bag of “Working Dog” for one of his grateful customers.

Commendations also go to 5 yr old Luella Hutchinson with “Pa”, Claire Coulson with “Blood, Sweat & Tears” and Oliver Coulson’s second entry, “One Eyed”.

WINNERS of the “Lenn Robb People’s Choice Award” via public vote.

Congratulations to Immy Hutchinson with Mr Dennis & Clare Coulson with her photo of Leanne Blake. Both Immy and Clare receive $50 each.

Winners of three $50 gift vouchers have been drawn from voters of the People’s Choice Award. Winners are Johnni &Wendy Leerson (3242), Hillary Grant (3250) and Abby Hall (3242). Each voter will be contacted and have the opportunity to select a $50 gift voucher for one of our participating Birregurra traders.

Thanks again to Birre Mail, Birregurra Historical Society and Birregurra General Store for their generous donations and support for the project.

Next year’s theme is BIRREGURRA STRUCTURES AND BUILDINGS. Get snapping!!